Uganda’s Joshua Cheptegei Nominated for the Laureus Sportsman of the Year Award


Uganda Tourism Board’s ambassador for Tourism Joshua Cheptegei has been nominated for Laureus World Sports Awards’ Sportsman of the year. He is nominated alongside sports’ house hold names that include; Lebron James, Lewis Hamilton, Rafael Nadal, Robert Lewandowski, and Armand Duplantis.


Los Angeles Lakers star LeBron James is included in the six-person Sportsman of the Year shortlist after he won his fourth NBA title and fourth Finals MVP award. Robert Lewandowski is a notable candidate after he scored 55 goals to help Bayern Munich win the Champions League and the German Bundesliga.


The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honoring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. The name “Laureus” is derived from the Greek word for laurel, considered a traditional symbol of victory in athletics. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont. It is supported by its global partners Mercedes-Benz, IWC Schaffhausen and MUFG. The awards support the work of Laureus Sport for Good, which supports over 160 community projects in more than 40 countries. These programmes aim to use the power of sport to end violence, discrimination and disadvantage, and prove that sport has the power to change the world.


The winners of each category will be voted for by the 68 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy and will be announced in May at a virtual awards event.


The full list of all the categories as below;


Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award

Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda) – Athletics

LeBron James (USA) – Basketball

Rafael Nadal (Spain) – Tennis

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) – Football

Armand Duplantis (Sweden) – Athletics

Lewis Hamilton (UK) – Motor Racing


Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award

Brigid Kosgei (Kenya) – Athletics

Naomi Osaka (Japan) – Tennis

Wendie Renard (France) – Football

Breanna Stewart (USA) – Basketball

Anna van der Breggen (Netherlands) – Cycling

Federica Brignone (Italy) – Skiing


Laureus World Team of the Year Award

Argentina Men’s Rugby Team

Liverpool (UK) – Football

Los Angeles Lakers (USA) – Basketball

Bayern Munich (Germany) – Football

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team (Germany) – Motor Racing

Kansas City Chiefs (USA) – American Football


Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award

Ansu Fati (Spain) – Football

Iga Swiatek (Poland) – Tennis

Dominic Thiem (Austria) – Tennis

Patrick Mahomes (USA) – American Football

Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia) – Cycling

Joan Mir (Spain) – Motor Cycling


Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award

Alex Morgan (USA) – Football

Daniel Bard (USA) – Baseball

Max Parrot (Canada) – Snowboarding

Kento Momota (Japan) – Badminton

Alex Smith (USA) – American Football

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – Skiing


Laureus Sport for Good Award

Boxgirls Kenya – Boxing – supports and empowers at-risk girls in underserved slum communities in Nairobi.

Fundación Colombianitos (Colombia) – Football & Rugby – bridges gender gaps and promotes education.

KICKFORMORE (Germany) – Football – empowers youth to make positive contributions in their communities.